• Fighting-for-Clean-Water2
  • Replace Educating the Public2
  • 003
  • 004
  • 001

Today the Philadelphia Inquirer mirrored American Littoral Society's recommendations for what the approach to rebuilding after Sandy should be. In an editorial published on Nov. 13, the paper stated that the lesson from Hurricane Sandy is: don't build too closer to the water. The Inquirer quoted Tim Dillingham, who said that " . . . about half of the state's wetlands have been destroyed by overdevelopment and should be replenished. Beyond supporting fiddler crabs and spartina grass, wetlands support human life by soaking up flood waters."  Read the editorial

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Thu Aug 20 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Sunset Seining
Fri Aug 21 @ 9:00AM - 01:30PM
Coastal Explorers
Sat Aug 22 @ 9:00AM -
Shore Birds and Wild Edibles Walk
Fri Sep 11 @12:00AM
´╗┐End of Summer Party
Fri Sep 18 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Sat Sep 19 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Wed Sep 23 @ 6:00PM -
Fall Equinox Walk
Sat Sep 26 @ 4:00PM - 07:00PM
Jamaica Bay Sunset Ecology Cruise
Sat Oct 03 @12:00AM - 12:00PM
Raptor Trust/Great Swamp Refuge
Sat Oct 10 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Fort Tilden Hawk Watch