• Fighting-for-Clean-Water2
  • Replace Educating the Public2
  • 003
  • 004
  • 001

Today the Philadelphia Inquirer mirrored American Littoral Society's recommendations for what the approach to rebuilding after Sandy should be. In an editorial published on Nov. 13, the paper stated that the lesson from Hurricane Sandy is: don't build too closer to the water. The Inquirer quoted Tim Dillingham, who said that " . . . about half of the state's wetlands have been destroyed by overdevelopment and should be replenished. Beyond supporting fiddler crabs and spartina grass, wetlands support human life by soaking up flood waters."  Read the editorial

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Sat May 30 @ 3:00PM - 06:00PM
Jamaica Bay Ecology Cruise
Tue Jun 02 @ 6:00PM -
Horseshoe Crab Walk
Fri Jun 05 @ 3:00PM - 04:00PM
Montauk Spring Weekend
Sat Jun 06 @ 3:00PM - 04:00PM
Montauk Spring Weekend
Sun Jun 07 @ 3:00PM - 04:00PM
Montauk Spring Weekend
Sat Jun 13 @12:00PM - 04:00PM
Annual Meeting + Members' Day
Sun Jun 21 @ 6:00PM -
Summer Solstice Walk
Fri Jun 26 @ 9:30AM -
Pine Barrens Canoe Trip
Sat Jul 11 @ 9:30AM -
Fossil Hunt
Thu Jul 23 @ 6:00PM -
Sunset Seining