The American Littoral Society promotes the study and conservation of marine life and habitat, protects the coast from harm, and empowers others to do the same.

Since 1961 we have empowered people to care for the coast through advocacy, conservation, and education. We not only provide a voice for the coast, but also give concerned citizens the knowledge and tools they need to raise their voices with us. When we restore habitat, our objective is not only to restore a dune or rebuild an oyster reef, but also to motivate people to invest “sweat equity” into a piece of the coast, take ownership and become committed stewards. When we educate, we don’t merely provide books, CDs, or handouts. We lead students young and old into the water to get their feet wet and their hands muddy. Sitting at a computer or reading a book, people may develop an interest in the coast; standing knee deep in sea foam with sand between their toes, they can develop a passion for the coast.

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Fri Mar 20 @ 5:00PM -
Spring Equinox Walk
Sat Mar 28 @10:00AM - 01:00PM
Early Spring Bird Walk!
Fri Apr 17 @ 1:00PM -
Old Dune Trail Walk
Fri Apr 24 @ 2:00PM -
Arbor Day Tree Walk
Sun Apr 26 @11:00AM - 02:00PM
Earth Day Shoreline Cleanup
Sat May 02 @10:00AM - 01:00PM
NYC Audubon Spring Migration Workshop
Fri May 08 @ 8:30AM -
Spring Migration Bird Walk
Sat May 09 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Sandy Hook Surf Fishing Clinic
Fri May 15 @ 6:00PM -
Horseshoe Crab Walk
Sat May 23 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Horseshoe Crab and Shorebird Walk