061b oystercatcher pair bpFriends of Jamaica Bay is a coalition founded in 2010 by the Northeast Chapter of the American Littoral Society. The goal of the Friends is to advocate for and assist with management of Jamaica Bay’s resources. Current issues being addressed with National Park Service staff include the management of trails, fields, and ponds in the Jamaica Bay Wildlife Refuge, removal of invasive species, and maintenance of bird feeding stations and nest boxes to enhance the visitor experience. The growing membership of the Friends of Jamaica Bay will strongly communicate the value we place on the Bay and its wild resources, as well as raise funds for restoration activities.

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Fri Sep 11 @12:00AM
End of Summer Party
Fri Sep 18 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Sat Sep 19 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Wed Sep 23 @ 6:00PM -
Fall Equinox Walk
Sat Sep 26 @ 4:00PM - 07:00PM
Jamaica Bay Sunset Ecology Cruise
Sat Oct 03 @12:00AM - 12:00PM
Raptor Trust/Great Swamp Refuge
Sat Oct 10 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Fort Tilden Hawk Watch
Fri Oct 30 @ 7:30PM -
Spooky Tales/Ghosts of Historic Fort Hancock
Sat Nov 07 @ 8:00AM -
Surf Fishing Clinic at Sandy Hook
Thu Nov 19 @12:00AM - 12:00PM
Assateague/Chincoteague Weekend