spillspotlogo

When an Oil Spill Hits New Jersey, Will You Know What to Do?

JOIN THE SPILLSPOTTERS NETWORK

When the BP oil spill hit the Gulf of Mexico and its coastal communities, our office was inundated with calls from our members and the general public who wanted to go down and help. Many were disappointed to learn that because they lacked the appropriate training and knowledge, there was very little they could do. The best way to respond to an oil spill or other catastrophic pollution event is to prepare in advance.
 
To give people the training and tools they need to enhance New Jersey’s response to oil spills, we launched the SpillSpotters Network in spring 2012. We are building and training this network of citizen volunteers to identify and monitor our coastal natural resources and assist in oil spill response. 

Citizens can play a key role in an oil spill response. After all, it’s our boaters, kayakers, fishermen, birders, beachcombers, and hikers that know our coast the best. Citizens also have a vested interest in protecting their local waterways. Before, during and after an environmental catastrophe, we need as many eyes on the water as we can get to make sure our coastal treasures are not in harm’s way.

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Thu Oct 23 @ 5:00PM - 03:00PM
53rd Annual Meeting in Chincoteague, Virginia
Fri Oct 24 @ 5:00PM - 03:00PM
53rd Annual Meeting in Chincoteague, Virginia
Sat Oct 25 @ 5:00PM - 03:00PM
53rd Annual Meeting in Chincoteague, Virginia
Sun Oct 26 @ 5:00PM - 03:00PM
53rd Annual Meeting in Chincoteague, Virginia
Thu Oct 30 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Spooky Walk
Fri Oct 31 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Healthy Soils and Native Plants Demo
Sat Nov 08 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Orienteering workshop for beginners
Thu Nov 13 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Oil Spill Response Workshop
Sat Nov 22 @ 8:00AM - 12:00PM
Surf Fishing Clinic
Sat Dec 06 @11:00AM -
Lunch and Learn Series