spillspotlogo

When an Oil Spill Hits New Jersey, Will You Know What to Do?

JOIN THE SPILLSPOTTERS NETWORK

When the BP oil spill hit the Gulf of Mexico and its coastal communities, our office was inundated with calls from our members and the general public who wanted to go down and help. Many were disappointed to learn that because they lacked the appropriate training and knowledge, there was very little they could do. The best way to respond to an oil spill or other catastrophic pollution event is to prepare in advance.
 
To give people the training and tools they need to enhance New Jersey’s response to oil spills, we launched the SpillSpotters Network in spring 2012. We are building and training this network of citizen volunteers to identify and monitor our coastal natural resources and assist in oil spill response. 

Citizens can play a key role in an oil spill response. After all, it’s our boaters, kayakers, fishermen, birders, beachcombers, and hikers that know our coast the best. Citizens also have a vested interest in protecting their local waterways. Before, during and after an environmental catastrophe, we need as many eyes on the water as we can get to make sure our coastal treasures are not in harm’s way.

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Sat Feb 07 @10:00AM - 01:00PM
Winter Survival Wildlife Walk
Sat Feb 21 @ 9:00AM -
Winter Water Fowl and Seal Walk
Sat Mar 07 @12:00PM -
Lunch and Learn
Fri Mar 13 @10:00AM -
Winter Water Fowl and Seal Walk
Fri Mar 20 @ 5:00PM -
Spring Equinox Walk
Sat Mar 28 @10:00AM - 01:00PM
Early Spring Bird Walk!
Fri Apr 17 @ 1:00PM -
Old Dune Trail Walk
Fri Apr 24 @ 2:00PM -
Arbor Day Tree Walk
Sat Apr 25 @ 8:00AM -
Surf Fishing Clinic
Sun Apr 26 @11:00AM - 02:00PM
Earth Day Shoreline Cleanup