Going to Court to Defend the Coast from Harm

To paraphrase our good friends and colleagues at EarthJustice, “Sometimes the coast needs a really good lawyer.”  The American Littoral Society works to protect the coast through conservation, advocacy and education, but the reality is that sometimes others are intent on doing things that are not in the best interest of a healthy coast – or legal! When that happens, we go to court to defend the coast from harm because laws need to be respected and enforced if they are going to achieve the goals set when they are enacted.

Often, we go to court to defend the environmental laws protecting the coast from special interests such as developers or industrial polluters who want to overturn the law itself--fighting in court a battle they have already lost in the legislature.

We seek the court’s intervention both at the state level and at the federal level. The law is an important tool to protect the environment and we are aided by capable, experienced lawyers with a passion for defending the coast.

In many cases, our efforts have set precedents that protected clean water, public access and coastal habitats beyond the initial cases. We most often appear as “friends of the court,” offering our expertise on coastal issues. In recognition of the experience of our attorneys, we have even been invited by the Supreme Court to participate in important cases.

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Thu Aug 20 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Sunset Seining
Fri Aug 21 @ 9:00AM - 01:30PM
Coastal Explorers
Sat Aug 22 @ 9:00AM -
Shore Birds and Wild Edibles Walk
Fri Sep 11 @12:00AM
End of Summer Party
Fri Sep 18 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Sat Sep 19 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Wed Sep 23 @ 6:00PM -
Fall Equinox Walk
Sat Sep 26 @ 4:00PM - 07:00PM
Jamaica Bay Sunset Ecology Cruise
Sat Oct 03 @12:00AM - 12:00PM
Raptor Trust/Great Swamp Refuge
Sat Oct 10 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Fort Tilden Hawk Watch