arctic1Climate change is causing the Arctic to warm twice as quickly as the rest of the planet.  In the Arctic, sea ice is receding, permafrost is melting, and basic habitats are either shifting or disappearing altogether. Such dynamics can change the temperature of ocean layers, impact ocean circulation and salinity, and greatly affect ocean processes, which, in turn, impact the Arctic and global climate. As this change unfolds it will drastically alter the fundamental living conditions in the Arctic over the next few decades. The impacts will be felt not just by wildlife, but by the 4 million people who live in the Arctic, and particularly by the traditional communities who derive their subsistence from its marine mammals and fisheries. 

arctic2This warming also presents new opportunities for development in this remote and previously inaccessible region. To ensure sustainable development for the region’s people, and the resilience of the region’s natural and living resources, the changes, both expected and unexpected, must be managed in a manner that takes ecological and cultural sensitivity into account. RMCP is currently working with conservation groups to protect the Arctic ecosystem from poorly regulated industrial fishing, shipping and energy development. 

Search Our Website

Upcoming Events (Red=NJ; Blue=NY; Green=FL)

Fri Aug 21 @ 9:00AM - 01:30PM
Coastal Explorers
Sat Aug 22 @ 9:00AM -
Shore Birds and Wild Edibles Walk
Fri Sep 11 @12:00AM
End of Summer Party
Fri Sep 18 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Sat Sep 19 @ 3:00PM - 03:00PM
Sandy Hook BioBlitz
Wed Sep 23 @ 6:00PM -
Fall Equinox Walk
Sat Sep 26 @ 4:00PM - 07:00PM
Jamaica Bay Sunset Ecology Cruise
Sat Oct 03 @12:00AM - 12:00PM
Raptor Trust/Great Swamp Refuge
Sat Oct 10 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Fort Tilden Hawk Watch
Fri Oct 30 @ 7:30PM -
Spooky Tales/Ghosts of Historic Fort Hancock